Rechercher un terme


Affichage des termes 1 à 25 sur un total de 124

Water self cleaning/ water assimilative capacity

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens commun
Biological process by which water in natural environments (rivers, wetlands, lakes, etc.) cleans itself when the amount of pollutants discharged into it is not too significant. Self-cleaning is the result of the action of organisms living in water.
Source
according to AFB

Pollution basin

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens technique
Storm basin intended to retain the pollution of the first waters during periods of heavy rain.
Source
according to FNDAE

Water pollution

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens commun
Pollution of water degrading its intrinsic qualities, disrupting aquatic life and making its use dangerous for human beings and animals. This contamination results from the presence of pollutants in sufficient quantity to be harmful.
Source
according to ADEME

Oslo Convention

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens technique
International Convention signed in 1972 for the prevention of marine pollution by dumping from ships and aircraft. The Oslo Commission was responsible for administering the Oslo Convention; in 1992, it combined with the Paris Commission, before the new Convention for the Protection of the Marine Environment of the North-East Atlantic (OSPAR Convention) entered into force in 1998.
Source
according to OSPAR Commission

London Convention

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens technique
International Convention signed in 1972 and entered into force in 1975 for the prevention of marine pollution by dumping of wastes.
Source
according to the Ministry of Agriculture

Nitrogen cycle

Updated on 25/02/2019
Définition
Sens commun

All of the processes and conversions of nitrogen, into different forms, in the atmosphere, the lithosphere, the hydrosphere and the biosphere (nitrous oxide, nitrate, nitrite, ammonia, organic nitrogen).

Source
according to the Ministry of Environment

Soil decontamination

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens commun
Action to extract or destroy all or part of the pollutants present in a soil.
Source
according to Wikipedia

Soil erosion

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens commun
Thinning of the topsoil of a field as a result of the natural erosive forces of water and wind, or as a result of agricultural activities such as tillage. Soil erosion lowers the productivity of the land and contributes to the pollution of adjacent rivers, wetlands and lakes.
Source
according to Ontario Ministry of Agriculture

Fertilisation

Updated on 04/12/2018
Définition
Sens commun
Input of matters (fertiliser) to maintain or increase the fertility of a soil.
Source
according to AFB
Sens technique
All techniques concerning the input of matters intended to maintain or increase the fertility of a soil. One usually distinguishes soil additives, basic and organic minerals, which affect the physical, chemical and biological properties of the soil, from fertilisers, which are used to improve the nutrition of crops and contain major (nitrogen, phosphorus, potassium), secondary (sulphur, magnesium, calcium and sodium) and minor nutrients (micro or trace elements).
Source
according to Encyclopaedia universalis

Fungicide

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens commun
Pesticide used to control, repel or destroy fungi.
Source
according to Lenntech

Herbicide / weed killer

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens commun
Pesticide used to control, repel or destroy unwanted plants.
Source
according to Wikipedia

Lichen

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens commun
Organism generated by symbiotic association between a mushroom (which brings water and mineral salts) and algae (which creates, by photosynthesis, different organic compounds that it yields in part to the mushroom). Lichens are able to withstand extreme weather conditions and are able to accumulate mineral compounds well beyond their own needs. As a result, they are often used as pollution indicators.
Source
according to IFREMER

slurry/liquid manure

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens commun
Mixture of farm animal excreta containing a large quantity of water, kept in covered pits to then serve as fertiliser.
Source
according to the Larousse dictionary and IOWater

Agricultural pollution

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens commun
Pollution resulting from agricultural activities. There are two types of agricultural pollution: point source pollution, which may be the consequence of accidental handling of products or pollution from livestock buildings; non-point source pollution, resulting from poor fertilisation practices or excessive phytosanitary treatments. Agricultural pollution can also result from poor land management and spatial and plot planning that no longer limits erosion or pollutant transfers on a catchment area scale.
Source
according to the Adour-Garonne Water Agency

Atmospheric pollution

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens commun
Environmental pollution by a chemical, physical or biological agent that modifies the natural characteristics of the atmosphere. For example, appliances used for combustion in homes, motor vehicles, industries and forest fires are frequent sources of air pollution.
Source
according to WHO

Domestic/indoor pollution

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens commun
Pollution resulting from wastewater discharged from households (showers, toilets, kitchen, etc.).
Source
according to the Adour-Garonne Water Agency

Industrial pollution

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens commun
Pollution directly induced by industrial activity, when it introduces biological, physical (including radiation), chemical or organic allogenic factors, affecting more or less significantly the functioning of ecosystems.
Source
according to Wikipedia

Metal pollution

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens commun
Environmental contamination caused by the excessive amount of various metals, such as aluminium, arsenic, chromium, cobalt, copper, manganese, molybdenum, nickel, zinc, etc., or even of heavy metals such as cadmium, mercury or lead, that are more toxic than the previous ones.
Source
according to CNRS

Rainwater pollution

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens commun
Pollution of rainwater. If rainwater is naturally polluted (drops of water can only reach a sufficient size to fall to the ground when there are solid particles in the atmosphere to initiate the nucleation process, part of the urban air pollutants is therefore driven to the ground during rainy periods), the pollutant concentrations are however extremely low, and in most situations, rainwater is of drinking water quality when it reaches the ground. The most common limiting factor is pH (acid rain), but this acidity is very quickly buffered by the materials on which water flows or passes through.
Source
according to Greater Lyon Urban Community

Seasonal pollution

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens commun
Pollution occurring seasonally, mainly as a result of specific human activities (road salting in winter, soil improvement, tourism...).
Source
according to the Regional Directorate for the Environment, Planning and Housing (DREAL) of Rhône-Alpes

Pollutant transfer

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens commun
Migration of a polluting substance within an environment or between different environments. Pollutant transfer is influenced by many factors, such as the intrinsic chemical properties of pollutants and the nature of the environment in which they are.
Source
according to BRGM

Aquifer vulnerability

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens technique
Risk of infiltration of pollutants from the surface, through the soil and unsaturated zone. The vulnerability of aquifers is intrinsic: it depends on the topographic (ground slope), pedological (permeability), geological context (permeability, thickness). A confined aquifer, covered by a low permeability formation (often clays) is not very vulnerable as compared to an unconfined aquifer.
Source
according to BRGM

Charges/fees for pollution from non-domestic sources

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens commun
Amount of money paid by the industrialists according to the volume of the discharged pollution. This fee aims to encourage companies and manufacturers to reduce their discharges. The charge rates are set according to the pollutant elements and can be modulated by zone, to take into account the status of the natural environment.
Source
according to the Water Agencies

Charges/fees for non-point source pollution

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens commun
Amount of money paid by producers of plant protection products. This fee takes into account the level of toxicity and dangerousness of substances used in agricultural and gardening activities. It encourages users to choose less polluting products.
Source
according to the Water Agencies

Charges/fees for the protection of aquatic environments

Updated on 06/09/2018
Définition
Sens commun
Amount of money paid by fishermen at the issuing of the fishing license. It is levied by the departmental or interdepartmental federations of approved associations for fishing and the protection of aquatic environments, from approved associations of amateur fishermen with gear and nets and from approved associations of professional fishing in freshwater.
Source
according to the Water Agencies

Rechercher un terme


Affichage des termes 1 à 25 sur un total de 125

Biomarqueur

Mis à jour le 26/03/2019
Définition
Sens technique

Paramètre biologique mesurable, indicateur d'un processus biologique et pouvant mettre en évidence l'exposition ou les effets d'un contaminant. Les biomarqueurs sont utilisés pour établir des diagnostics environnementaux ou sanitaires.

Source
d'après IRSTEA

Autoépuration de l'eau

Mis à jour le 26/03/2019
Définition
Sens commun

Processus biologique par lequel l'eau présente dans la nature (dans les rivières, les milieux humides, les lacs...) se nettoie elle-même lorsque la quantité de matières polluantes qui y est rejetée n'est pas trop importante. L'autoépuration est le résultat de l'activité des organismes vivant dans l'eau.

Source
d'après AFB

Bassin de pollution

Mis à jour le 26/03/2019
Définition
Sens technique

Bassin d'orage destiné à retenir la pollution des premières eaux lors d'épisodes de fortes pluies.

Source
d'après FNDAE

Contamination de l'eau

Mis à jour le 26/03/2019
Définition
Sens commun

Action de pollution de l'eau, dégradant ainsi ses qualités intrinsèques, perturbant la vie aquatique et rendant son utilisation dangereuse pour l'homme et les animaux. Une contamination résulte de la présence de polluants en quantité suffisante pour qu'ils puissent être nocifs.

Source
d'après Ademe

Convention d'Oslo

Mis à jour le 26/03/2019
Définition
Sens technique

Convention internationale signée en 1972, visant la prévention de la pollution marine par les opérations d'immersions de déchets en mer effectuées par les navires et les aéronefs. La Commission d'Oslo était chargée d'administrer la Convention d'Oslo ; à partir de 1992, elle est réunie avec la Commission de Paris sous une même

Source
d'après Commission OSPAR

Convention de Londres

Mis à jour le 26/03/2019
Définition
Sens technique

Convention internationale signée en 1972 et entrée en vigueur en 1975, visant la prévention de la pollution des mers résultant de l'immersion de déchets.

Source
d'après Ministère chargé de l'agriculture

Cycle de l'azote

Mis à jour le 02/12/2019
Définition
Sens commun

Ensemble des échanges et des transformations de l'azote sous ses différentes formes dans l'atmosphère, la lithosphère, l'hydrosphère et la biosphère (diazote, nitrate, nitrite, ammoniaque, azote organique).

Source
d’après Ministère chargé de l’environnement

Décontamination du sol

Mis à jour le 26/03/2019
Définition
Sens commun

Action visant à extraire ou détruire tout ou partie des polluants présents dans un sol. Les techniques de réhabilitation des sols pollués sont classés en quatre catégories : traitements physiques, traitements chimiques, traitements biologiques et traitements thermiques.

Source
d'après OIEau

Erosion du sol

Mis à jour le 26/03/2019
Définition
Sens commun

Amincissement de la couche arable d'un champ sous l'effet des forces érosives naturelles de l'eau et du vent, ou sous l'effet des activités agricoles, comme le travail du sol. L'érosion du sol abaisse la productivité de la terre et contribue à la pollution des cours d'eau, des terres humides et des lacs adjacents.

Source
d'après Ministère chargé de l'Agriculture de l'Ontario

Fertilisation

Mis à jour le 26/03/2019
Définition
Sens commun

Apport de matières (engrais) visant à maintenir ou à augmenter la fertilité d'un sol.

Source
d'après OIEau
Sens technique

Ensemble des techniques concernant l'apport de matières destinées à maintenir ou à augmenter la fertilité d'un sol. On distingue habituellement les amendements, minéraux basiques et organiques, qui exercent une action sur les propriétés physiques, chimiques et biologiques du sol, et les engrais, destinés à améliorer l'alimentation des cultures et renfermant des éléments nutritifs majeurs (azote, phosphore, potassium), secondaires (soufre, magnésium, calcium et sodium) et mineurs (ou micro- ou oligoéléments).

Source
d'après Encyclopaedia universalis

Fongicide

Mis à jour le 26/03/2019
Définition
Sens commun

Pesticide utilisé pour contrôler, repousser ou détruire des champignons.

Source
d'après Lenntech

Herbicide

Mis à jour le 26/03/2019
Définition
Sens commun

Produit chimique utilisé pour détruire des végétaux. Il est dit sélectif s'il détruit seulement un type de végétal et total s'il détruit toutes sortes de végétaux.

Source
d'après dictionnaire Larousse

Lichen

Mis à jour le 26/03/2019
Définition
Sens commun

Organisme constitué par une association symbiotique entre un champignon (qui apporte eau et sels minéraux) et une algue (qui fabrique, par photosynthèse, différents composés organiques qu'elle cède en partie au champignon). Les lichens sont capables de résister à des conditions climatiques extrêmes et sont capables d'accumuler des composés minéraux bien au-delà de leurs besoins propres. De ce fait, ils sont souvent utilisés comme

Source
d'après Ifremer

Lisier

Mis à jour le 26/03/2019
Définition
Sens commun

Mélange d'excréments d'animaux d'élevage contenant une grande quantité d'eau, conservé dans des fosses couvertes pour servir ensuite d'engrais.

Source
d'après Dictionnaire Larousse et OIEau

Pollution agricole

Mis à jour le 26/03/2019
Définition
Sens commun

Pollution issue d'un usage agricole. On distingue deux types de pollutions agricoles : des pollutions ponctuelles, qui peuvent être la conséquence soit de manipulations accidentelles des produits soit de pollutions dues aux bâtiments d'élevage ; des pollutions diffuses, qui proviennent de mauvaises pratiques de fertilisation ou de traitements phytosanitaires excessifs. Une pollution agricole peut également provenir d'une mauvaise gestion des terres et d'un aménagement de l'espace et des parcelles ne permettant plus de limiter l'érosion ou les transferts de polluants à l'échelle du bassin versant.

Source
d'après Agence de l'eau Adour-Garonne

Pollution atmosphérique

Mis à jour le 26/03/2019
Définition
Sens commun

Contamination de l'environnement par un agent chimique, physique ou biologique qui modifie les caractéristiques naturelles de l'atmosphère. Par exemple, les appareils utilisés pour la combustion au sein des foyers, les véhicules automobiles, les établissements industriels et les feux de forêt sont des sources fréquentes de pollution atmosphérique.

Source
d'après OMS

Pollution domestique

Mis à jour le 26/03/2019
Définition
Sens commun

Pollution issue des rejets de l'homme dans son lieu de vie (douches, WC, cuisine, ...).

Source
d'après Agence de l'eau Adour-Garonne

Pollution industrielle

Mis à jour le 26/03/2019
Définition
Sens commun

Pollution induite par l'activité industrielle dans les différents compartiments terrestres (eau, sol, air, etc.) affectant de manière plus ou moins importante le fonctionnement des écosystèmes.

Source
d'après OIEau

Pollution métallique

Mis à jour le 26/03/2019
Définition
Sens commun

Contamination de l'environnement due à la présence excessive de différents métaux, comme l'aluminium, l'arsenic, le chrome, le cobalt, le cuivre, le manganèse, le molybdène, le nickel, le zinc... ou encore à des métaux lourds comme le cadmium, le mercure ou le plomb, plus toxiques que les précédents.

Source
d'après CNRS

Pollution pluviale

Mis à jour le 26/03/2019
Définition
Sens commun

Pollution de l'eau de pluie. Si l'eau de pluie est naturellement polluée (les gouttes d'eau ne peuvent atteindre une taille suffisante pour tomber vers le sol que s'il existe des particules solides dans l'atmosphère permettant d'initier le processus de nucléation, une partie des polluants atmosphériques urbains est donc entraînée vers le sol lors des périodes pluvieuses), les concentrations en polluants sont cependant extrêmement faibles, et, dans la plupart des situations, l'eau de pluie est de qualité potable lorsqu'elle arrive au niveau du sol. Le facteur limitant le plus fréquent est le pH (pluies acides

Source
d'après Métropole de Lyon

Pollution saisonnière

Mis à jour le 26/03/2019
Définition
Sens commun

Pollution survenant de façon saisonnière, principalement à la suite d'activités humaines particulières (salage des routes l'hiver, amendement des sols, tourisme...).

Source
d'après DREAL Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes

Transfert de polluant

Mis à jour le 26/03/2019
Définition
Sens commun

Migration d'une substance polluante au sein d'un milieu ou entre différents milieux. Le transfert de polluant est influencé par de multiples facteurs, comme les propriétés chimiques intrinsèques des substances polluantes et la nature du milieu dans lequel elles se trouvent.

Source
d'après BRGM

Vulnérabilité de nappe

Mis à jour le 26/03/2019
Définition
Sens technique

Risque d'infiltration de polluants issus de la surface, à travers le sol et la zone non-saturée. La vulnérabilité des nappes est intrinsèque : elle dépend du contexte topographique (pente du terrain), pédologique (perméabilité), géologique (perméabilité, épaisseur). Une nappe captive, recouverte par une formation peu perméable (souvent des argiles) est peu vulnérable en comparaison d'une nappe libre.

Source
D'après BRGM

Redevance pour pollution d'origine non domestique

Mis à jour le 11/03/2019
Définition
Sens commun

 

Somme d'argent payée par les industriels en fonction de l'importance de la pollution rejetée. Elle a étécette redevance a pour objectif d'inciter les entreprises et industriels à réduire leurs rejets. Les taux de redevance sont fixés par éléments polluants et peuvent être modulés par zone, pour prendre en compte l'état du milieu naturel.

Source
d'après Agences de l'eau

Redevance pour pollutions diffuses

Mis à jour le 11/03/2019
Définition
Sens commun

 

Somme d'argent payée par les producteurs de produits phytopharmaceutiques. Cette redevance prend en compte le niveau de toxicité et de dangerosité des substances utilisées dans les activités agricoles et de jardinage. Elle incite ainsi les utilisateurs à orienter leur choix vers des produits moins polluants.

Source
d'après Agences de l'eau